Book Project Update

Since I’ve had a lot of positive feedback from people about the book project, I thought I would share a little part that I’m working on right now…and that one is on addictions.

But before I get into that, I have a little secret to divulge on weight loss.

I am an avid coffee drinker. Actually, coffee is the #1 staple to my diet. I’m not kidding when I say that I live on coffee.

I was reading in Shape magazine that sugar substitutes like Equal, Splenda and Sweet N Low inhibits weight loss. The body doesn’t know what to do with it because it’s not a natural substance, so the substance is stored in the body. This, in fact, inhibits weight loss.

So I decided to test Shape’s report by foregoing all sugar substitutes and either using one packet of real sugar or honey in my coffee.

My findings after one month?

I have to buy a whole new wardrobe now. I was wearing a Gap large…it’s too big now. I’m swimming in the shirts now. I’m officially a Gap medium now, quickly approaching the small.

This was the type of weight loss I was supposed to have a year ago.

So what Shape reported about sugar substitutes is in fact correct. It inhibits weight loss…or at least slows it down for those who are trying to lose weight.

Honey has become my new all natural weight loss friend. No more little yellow packets to add to anything in my diet.

But before anybody starts misinterpreting the whole honey bit and weight loss…you have to read the page on this blog about the Book Project before jumping on any weird new diet revolution.

All I’m saying is that sugar substitutes inhibit weight loss if you’re trying to lose weight. Switch to something all natural like honey to sweeten your coffee or tea. Put sugar substitutes on your DO NOT ATTEMPT list.

Now, back to addictions.

Every single person has some sort of addiction. We have alcoholics, drug addicts, shopaholics, cigarette smokers, gamblers, overeaters, etc.

For me, I am a recovering shopaholic. Actually, I’m really good. Once upon a time, when life was just starting out after college, I was a very bad shopaholic.

I can tell you exactly what I classify as me being a shopaholic: buying clothes, books, movies and cds. We’re talking about…Idunno…in the clothes department, dropping $1K in a store like Lane Bryant. Dropping $500 in Barnes & Noble. Another $600 in the Virgin MegaStore/Best Buy. This is all over the course of two weeks.

Today, I’m a little different. I only buy what I need (which seems to be clothes lately since I’m shrinking at a rapid pace these days).

Today, I recognize the signs of unhappiness.

If I go on a spending spree for things that I don’t really need…it means that I am unhappy about something. Better yet, I’m depressed about something.

Unhappiness can come out in various forms. Shopping for me is a momentary happiness. But, that happiness is short lived. It’s only for the moment, and it’s never permanent.

Back then, there were things in my life that I wasn’t facing that I needed help with…like dealing with my best friend committing suicide (a guy that I was also in love with)…or dealing with the fact that I was a victim of sexual assault three months after my best friend died.

Do you see how unhappiness can just build up when we don’t work through what is causing so much unhappiness?

Now, there are many people that resort to some sort of addiction after bad things happen. For some people, they turn to food.

I packed on the pounds over the years, but I’m not a classic overeater. Actually, I hardly eat. My weight gain was purely from a little switch in my head that turned on that said that the body had to protect itself at all costs from becoming a victim again.

So the layers upon layers of fat piled on all in an effort to make me unpretty…because if I was fat and ugly no guy would try to attack me again…so thought my brain.

I’m not a classic case. I fall into one of those rare cases that shrinks and doctors love because it’s not like all of their other patients who are classic overeaters that actually made food an addiction. I’m that rare case they have to think hard about in order to ‘heal’ the mind and the body because what works for everybody else actually does not work at all for me.

I’m not addicted to food. I only eat it because I have to and when I do, I want something healthy.

There are many people that turn to food as a solace when they are depressed or unhappy. There are others that need to smoke a cigarette…have another drink of alcohol…or go on shopping sprees for things they don’t need or want.

We become addicted to those things that make us happy for just a few moments rather than facing head on what is making us so unhappy and then searching for true happiness that lasts.

Sometimes we get so wrapped up in our own unhappiness that we forget how to be truly happy.

So guess what the book is about??? Finding that happiness.

The book has turned into exactly what it’s called, “Losing 100 Pounds of Unhappiness.” This is the story of my journey that brought me to a doctor’s office (or several) in search of an answer on how I could be happy once again.

It’s not just about losing weight…it’s hardly even about that anymore. It’s become my spiritual journey as each pound melts away. Underneath each layer of fat, a little bit of unhappiness resides there…and the story is about my journey in facing each little bit of unhappiness and turning it into something I can be happy about for the rest of my life.

