Eleven Minutes

Forewarning the hockey folks, this is not a hockey post. But stick around, because today’s post may interest you.

I spent the entire day yesterday reading “Eleven Minutes” by Paulo Coelho. It wasn’t one of those adventurous books that loops you in from page one and you just can’t wait for it to finish. This was one of those books that I felt like he was telling a fictional account of what was going on inside of my soul.

It’s amazing how when we are on our journey in life that in our desire to succeed in life, we take out the things in life that we believe are choices. We run down one path and say goodbye to the other path.

I know there are a lot of us that choose the career life and the need to advance in life…to be someone important with a story to tell. We forego marriage, families, settling down, etc. because we believe that it will inhibit our success in life. But most of all…we say no to love.

When I read “Eleven Minutes,” I felt like Paulo Coelho was taking all of the secrets within my soul and interweaving it into a story which aimed to teach me a lesson about life and love.

Oddly enough, it even told the interweaving stories of the men in my life…or at least the men I’ve turned away. But I’m going to quote something here from the book that stuck out because fate is a bit funny when presented with circumstances designed to change your mind about love.

“Since I was in the company of an intellectual, I would quote from Plato. According to him, at the beginning of creation, men and women were not as they are now; there was just one being, who was rather short, with a body and a neck, but his head had two faces, looking in different directions. It was if two creatures had been glued back to back, with two sets of sex organs, four legs and four arms.

The Greek gods, however, were jealous, because this creature with four arms could work harder; with its two faces, it was always vigilant and could not be taken by surprise; and its four legs meant that it could stand to walk for long periods at a time without tiring. Even more dangerous was the fact that the creature had two different sets of sex organs and so needed no one else in order to continue reproducing.

Zeus, the supreme lord of Olympus, said: ‘I have a plan to make these mortals lose some of their strength.’

And he cut the creature in two with a lightning bolt, thus creating man and woman. This greatly increased the population of the world, and at the same time, disoriented and weakened its inhabitants, because now they had to search for their lost half and embrace it and, in that embrace, regain their former strength, their ability to avoid betrayal and the stamina to walk for long periods of time and to withstand hard work. That embrace in which the two bodies re-fuse to become one again is what we call sex.”

“Human beings were once divided and now seek the embrace that will reunite them. That is our instinct. But it is also our reason for putting up with all the difficulties we meet in that search.

I want you to look at me, but I want you to take care that I don’t notice. Initial desire is important because it is hidden, forbidden, not permitted. You don’t know whether you are looking at your lost half or not; she doesn’t know either, but something is drawing you together, and you must believe that it is true you are each other’s ‘other half.'”

It’s the last paragraph there that is the real emphasis here. “You don’t know whether you are looking at your lost half or not; she doesn’t know either, but something is drawing you together, and you must believe that it is true you are each other’s ‘other half.'”

When I read that, I was taken back to that first moment. The first moment I was introduced to a certain individual. Then I remembered the next moment…and then the next…and then the next. Something had been drawing us together.

When a man can repeat your poetry to you that you wrote about him that you never sent to him (you only displayed it for the world to read); you never say it’s about him; you take it down thinking…’I’m an idiot, why did I even write it?'; can you say that it is fate because by some chance he was drawn to that poem?

He read it. He knew it was about him. He repeats it to you and says the word ‘fate.’ Is that fate?

My friend posed a question to me recently, “How is it love if you never spend time together? How can you love them?”

He had a valid question, but Coelho answered it in “Eleven Minutes.” It all has to do with what he calls the ‘personal light’ or simply put, ‘the soul.’ The soul is searching for it’s other half. It knows the other half when it sees it.

Some people grow to love. They settle for what life has given to them.

There are those who are in love with the thought of love, looking for someone to love them to prevent them from the inevitable fear in life…loneliness. They don’t want to be alone throughout their entire life.

Then there are those who believe in fate. They wait. They wait until fate says it’s okay.

Fate to some is the fairy tale in life. It is the part that only exists in books and movies.

I don’t know. I’ve met couples that found their other half. It has been the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen in my life…true love.

One couple found each other in Australia. He was Australian, she was an American. I think of them often and think of how beautiful they are together, laughing, living in pure and complete happiness. They are in that heaven…that eternal bliss. You can see it radiating from their every being. THAT IS LOVE.

To say that your other half doesn’t exist…is a lie you tell to yourself. It does exist. I’ve seen it happen too many times to believe that it does exist.

I’ve even seen it happen in my life…all the way down to that moment when we were walking together and that feeling like we’d known each other our entire lives and it just felt like we were catching up with where we left off. Coelho even talks about that feeling in those moments.

Coelho has made me believe again. Flipping through the pages of this book, made me flip through the pages of my life to realize this story is telling me the story of what’s happening inside my soul. The things that I dismiss as absolutely ludicrous keep showing up again and again…and always, at the right moment. That is fate.

So now that you’ve gotten this far into the post, this is where I tell you, my dear readers that find inspiration in a lot of things I write, I’ve had to take down a lot of the inspirational posts that hint at my book project.

There are a lot of things that I sacrificed when I undertook the journey to write about what’s happened in my life over the course of the last two years (no, boys, I’m not writing a book about hockey…although something Mike Mottau said made the book and will not be edited out because it was a very important moment). I sacrificed so much that it came to my attention that others want to steal my hard work from the sacrifices I’ve made in life.

I think about how hard the struggle has been with my lungs since October 2008. I think about the cancer. I think about the tests I had to endure. I think about the pain and suffering I’ve gone through since October 2008. Why would I give away what I went through for someone else to profit off of my sacrifices?

After Katrina Cady (PsychoLadyHockey.com) discovered her book had been stolen and someone attempted to publish her book under their name, we’ve started to see it happening to others. I saw someone trying to steal my life story…I had to put a stop to it.

In the end, someone’s ill will ends up hurting my readers. There are a lot of you that have emailed me over the past year telling me how much something I wrote inspired them. It inspired them to become a better person. It inspired them to believe in their dreams and go after their heart’s desires. It reminded them that we still need to forge forward to find our other half…even when we get the pressure left and right that we should settle down…procreate…just so we know that we’re not alone.

This blog, at first, started off as a place where I could drop all of my writings and articles so that my family could find my writings all in one place. Then it developed into my opinions on hockey.

But now, it’s just been about my journey in life, along with the hockey and other musings, because that’s what my life is about.

When someone tries to steal something that doesn’t belong to them…like a story…it hurts more than just the writer the story belongs to. It hurts that writer’s readership. It hurts those that needed some sort of inspiration and found it in that writer’s writings, musings or blog.

Why did they want to steal the story? For their own personal gain.

It hurts a lot of people by trying to steal someone else’s life story. I would recommend getting a life and then writing about it. Don’t try and steal someone else’s incredible journey as if you had the right to it. You don’t.

So it is with that, my dear readers, I won’t be sharing any more details of the book with you. Many of you know that the story is my spiritual journey over the last couple of years. It’s been about searching for happiness in the ugliness that surrounds us…in breaking down the walls we’ve built around us in an effort to heal from the pain…it’s about finding ourselves.

So for those who still need inspiration, I’ll try to give as much as I can without telling you about the book. OR maybe it is in the book and I’m just not telling you that it is.

The deadline is August for the book. The details are sealed until it’s time to spin it and market it.

Until then, I recommend picking up “Eleven Minutes” by Paulo Coelho…that means you (other half). [I say that because I know he reads the blog…he’s let it slip one time too many that he reads this thing.] I think it really answered a lot of things that my soul had been grappling over these past few months. Sometimes books just come at you at the right moment in your life…like when you need it the most. Books have a way of calling itself to the reader. This book came during one of those moments when I needed it the most.

