I Wanna Rock

It’s very rare that I do a review of a theatrical production on here, but maybe it’s because I haven’t come across a show that deserved a musing. But since someone requested a review of the show, I’m doing one.

But before I get started, let me first talk about chance encounters.

A few years ago, I went to a Broadway Singles event at Madame Tussauds in Times Square with a few friends. It gave us a chance to meet a few other singles in New York, and attend a Broadway show at a discounted price.

They had a lot of stuff going on during the pre-party. While we were scoping out the crowd, my eyes landed on one guy in the room.

I’m a very picky person when it comes to men. I would say that I find maybe 1 in 10,000,000 men to be attractive. In other words, it’s very rare if I attempt to hit on a guy, or try and pick him up. It has to do more with the way they project themselves…their aura (to say the least).

I was all set, ready to go over and flirt with this one guy in the room that I was actually drawn to. I took two steps, stopped and said…WAIT!

I did a double take.

I then turned to my party and said, “Is it just me, or is that Constantine over there?”

One of the guys in my party said, “Yeah, someone said he was here.”

Of all of the guys in the room, of course, the only guy I would be drawn to was the rockstar. I’ve dated more rockstars in my life than I care to admit.

Needless to say, I didn’t go over and talk to Mr. Maroulis because coming to NYC meant NO MORE ROCKSTAR BOYFRIENDS. No matter how many rockers tell me that I’m the girl rockstars marry (yes, I’ve inspired a lot of songs…i.e. I’m their muse)…I wanted to be done with that scene. [Even though my life keeps swerving me back in that direction.]

Fast forward a few years later to August 10, 2010 and I’m sitting in Brooks Atkinson Theatre ready to rock it out with “Rock of Ages.”

The show was like being at a concert listening to all of your favorite hair band covers from the 80s. Now, being a former gf of a rockstar, there were certain parts of the show I was laughing over because it’s so typical of the lifestyle. Only people that are from that realm would get a few of the ‘rocker’ lifestyle references…because I did find I was the only one laughing over it.

I remember being that girl that inspired 1/2 of an album. *sigh* Boy, that rocker was really in love with me…

Anyway…

Remember Extreme’s “More Than Words”?

Emily Padgett, the heroine of the show, did a miraculous rendition of the song. You just get lost in the moment of how powerful her words really mean, because in the grand scheme of things, there are a lot of us who defied our parents to live the dream. Her song really hit close to home.

[What? You think my parents gave the stamp of approval on being a hockey writer? My dad thinks it's cool. Mom...you'd be amazed at the sexist crap that comes out of her mouth about women working in sports.]

The ensemble that makes up the rest of the cast, was just phenomenal. Adam Dannheisser, who plays the owner of the bar, Mitchell Jarvis, the narrator…all excellent ‘cool’ guys that make up the cast.

But enough about the people that helped make this production spectacular…let’s talk about Constantine.

You may remember him from such FAME moments as American Idol (the year Carrie Underwood won). This was probably one of the best seasons of Idol, as they produced two rockers and a country singer that made it all the way to the top of the nation’s unfound talent.

Remember those hot vocals he had back then? Well, that doesn’t compare to what he does for “Rock of Ages.” If you thought those 80s rockers can sing…yeah…Constantine can do it better…and he did.

I can’t even begin to go into how amazing this show was. You just have to see it for yourself. Luckily, he’s taking ROA on tour, so he’ll be coming to a city near you. Buy your tickets if you see him coming to your town. You won’t regret it.

After all, you know the show must be good if I was still smiling all the way home. A little nostalgia and a great cast singing those tunes from your teenage days will do it for ya. Click here to see tour dates [Sorry...doesn't look like they're hitting Nashville...start complaining Predators fans!]

You can follow Constantine Maroulis on Twitter: @constantinem

[Yes, I did find it funny he was retweeting my tweets from the dressing room during intermission.]

Here are a few I sent to him last night, just so you’ll get an idea on how absofuckinlutely amazing this show was:

@constantinem: RT @MichelleKenneth: Gotta say…Rock of Ages was written 4 @constantinem. Can’t imagine anyone doing a better job than him, b/c he rules this role.

@constantinem: RT @MichelleKenneth: @constantinem Amazing performance tonight! You and the cast rocked NYC tonight! And it’s only intermission. :)

Oh, and a big shoutout to the ROA band. Amazing job!

In a way, this whole show reminded me of that one summer at the Whisky A Go Go in LA. Memories…

So what is the bottom line to the story? Don’t Stop Believing in your dreams. We sometimes take a chance and go for our dreams and life throws us curveballs along the way. It’s all about what we decide to do with our lives in the end.

For those who love rock and even know a thing or two about pursuing your dreams…this is the show for you.

After all, how many times do I have to tell y’all to get on your path in life?

